This is all you need to do before you restore your smartphone to sell it

He came that difficult moment in which you are going to get rid of your cell phone. Whether you are going to sell or as gifts to a good cause (because you updated your model), it is critical to completely delete your information and restore your smartphone before you.

Google Photos premieres functions with artificial intelligence, announced at the Google I/O

To restore an iOS

For a start, while you’re connected to iCloud with your Apple ID, do not manually delete contacts, documents, photos and other. Then it performs the following steps:

  • Unbind your iPhone to the Apple Watch (to be the case).
  • Make the backup copy.
  • Closes your session on the App Store, iCloud, and iTunes Store.
  • If you use a model to 10.3 (or whatever was released later), go to Settings/ [your name]/ sign out. Then you will have to enter the password of your ID and click on Disable.
  • For the 10.2 (or earlier models) you’ll have to go to Settings/iCloud/sign out, and then click Delete device. After you enter the password of your ID, go to the tab Settings/iTunes Store/App Store ID//Close session.
  • Once this is done, go back to Settings and click on General/Reset/Erase all content and settings.
  • If you activated Find my iPhone, you will be asked to enter your ID and password.
  • It may also be necessary to write the device code and the Restrictions.
  • The next step will be to go to Delete device.

Following these steps, you will delete all your information.

(Special cases that do not use SIM card or dealing with phones that do not belong to Apple, they require the help of an operator).

Restore an Android

Maybe you think that to reset your device with just the “reset factory” option included in all Android. However, there are a couple of actions extra that you have to take into account.

For example, there are cases of SD cards whose content was not deleted, despite the fact that you applied the reset. If this happens to you, it is best to empty the card separately. It is very important to do so, since the SD are saved to our photos.

Another important issue relates to the recovery of data: a third party could re-establish our information with tools use relatively simple. To avoid something like that, there is that to encrypt the phone before performing the reset.

The encryption is simple: you must first go to the Settings tab and then to continue toward Safety, and, finally, Encrypt the phone.

For the reset: Settings/Backup/Reset factory data.

A final option (the best for those who want to be absolutely sure that it blotted out everything) is to overwrite the free data once you have done the reset.

If you want to empty the SD: go to Settings or Settings (appears different depending on the model), and from there go to Storage.

If you go down a little you’ll find an image that refers to your SD card, and that must include the legend “Delete” or “Format”. If you find one of these legends, click; if not, click the name of the SD and looks upward at the right edge, and wait for it to rollout a new menu in which you will find the option of formatting.

Eye: if you use a Marshmallow, press the option “Format as portable storage”, in case you want to pass your card to another mobile.

Check out more Related Articles around Cool Life Hacks